Expand search form

A Voice for Private Physicians Since 1943

NECO To Present The Ellis Island Medals Of Honor To Dr. Elizabeth Lee Vliet, MD

On Saturday, May 10th, 2014, Dr. Elizabeth Lee Vliet, MD will be honored for her decades of dedication to medicine, consumer health education and medical freedom advocate for patients around the world. Dr. Vliet founded Hormone Health Strategies in the US and is the CEO of International Health Strategies, SpA, in Chile currently doing outreach and medical consulting for patients seeking high quality, lower cost medical services. Her unique medical work is an integrated approach to the evaluation and treatment of women and men from puberty to late life incorporating the multi-faceted effects of endocrine change on health problems such as heart disease, bone loss, headache syndromes, prediabetes/insulin resistance, mood/anxiety disorders, and immune dysfunction.

Dr. Vliet is also the 2007 recipient of The Voice of Women award from the Arizona Foundation for Women, a past Director of The Association of American Physicians and Surgeons, and a nationally recognized speaker on health, wellness and healthcare reform. Dr. Vliet has appeared on FoxNews, Cavuto, Hannity, Stuart Varney and others, as well as nationally syndicated radio shows. Dr. Vliet is the author of seven best-selling consumer health books, including The Savvy Woman’s Guide® series, and is co-host of America’s Fabric, a radio program originating in Tucson, Az.

Dr. Elizabeth Lee Vliet will join TV host, author and financial expert Maria Bartiromo, clothing designer ElieTahari, California Congressman and Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee Ed Royce, Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White, 4-star General and Chief of the National Guard Bureau GEN Frank J. Grass USA, well-known Asian TV personality, entrepreneur and humanitarian Yue-SaiKan and jewelry designer Joan Hornigin receiving this honor at the 28th Annual Ellis Island Medals of Honor Ceremony on Ellis Island at 6:30 p.m. The Ceremony will be followed by a Gala Dinner in the historic Great Hall. Emmy-winning WPIX-11 Senior Correspondent Marvin Scott and renowned entertainer Tom Dreesen will be the Masters of Ceremony.

The Ellis Island Medals of Honor embody the spirit of America in their celebration of patriotism, tolerance, brotherhood and diversity. We recognize individuals who have made it their mission to share with those less fortunate their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents and selfless generosity; all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America. As always, NECO remains dedicated to the maintenance and restoration of America’s greatest symbol of its immigrant history, Ellis Island. Since the Medal was founded in 1986, we have honored such distinguished and diverse Americans including: six Presidents of the United States; Nobel Prize recipient Elie Wiesel, Muhammad Ali, Hon. Hillary Rodham Clinton, Frank Sinatra, Rosa Parks, just to name a few.

A complete list of former Medalists can be found on our website, www.neco.org.

Dr. Elizabeth Lee Vliet will receive her honor along with:

  • TV News Anchor Maria Bartiromo
  • So You Think You Can Dance creator & celebrity judge Nigel Lythgoe
  • U.S. Representative Ed Royce
  • Clothing Designer Elie Tahari
  • Illinois Sec. of State Jesse White
  • National Guard Bureau GEN Frank J. Grass, USA
  • and more than 90 outstanding Americans will be honored at this year’s ceremony
Previous Article

Helping Families in Mental Health Crisis Act of 2013 Summary

Next Article

Medicare Data Release Counterproductive, Misleading